top of page
  • randolphccinteriordesign

Spotlight: Abbie thompson


Why do you love design?


I like thinking of interior spaces as a puzzle; piecing together function, aesthetics, and the basic principles and elements of design to create the final product. The process of watching my projects start off as just ideas and watching them evolve into mood boards, concepts, design solutions, and selections, and then finally seeing the final result is so rewarding. Interior design always has variety, and it is so fun to put my own creative spin into every project.


Where are you completing your internship?


I am currently an intern at both Lorna Miller Brown Design and Sunpan Modern Home of High Point, NC. My interest in showroom design guided me to my current positions. I have already learned so much and would love to continue in showroom design after graduation.


Tell us more about your experience at

Lorna Miller-Brown Design.


"Working with Lorna has been a great experience. I have learned and grown as a designer while working with her. This internship helped push myself outside of my comfort zone. Lorna is a photo stylist and interior designer. Currently she is working on designing and renovating the Modern History showroom. During my internship I have helped pick out wallpaper, paint, and also fabrics. I have taken measurements and put together CAD drawings of wall plans and furniture plans. I have also helped her at another design job, Textures, where she commissions custom Indonesian handmade furniture and accessories."



Abbie and Lorna selecting the perfect paint color

Tell us more about your experience at Sunpan modern home.


"I am enjoying my experience interning at Sunpan Modern Home. I have learned a lot about the behind the scenes of showroom design. My favorite thing that I have been able to do was moving furniture and accessorizing sets for a photo and video shoots. It was fun to watch it all come together and see the final photography. I would encourage other students who are interested in showroom design to look into Sunpan Modern Home for an internship."



Abbie styling a the showroom for photography.

What advice to you have for future students?


Don't be nervous. Your internship supervisor knows what it's like to just be starting out into the design world.


Don't be afraid to ask questions! It shows you have the initiative and design to learn.


Be ready and excited everyday to learn something new!




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page